Dismal Dash TT #1 3/13/11   Leave a comment

I know its late, but its a time trial, what should I write, “It was fast and it hurt.” end of story.  But no, I will add more.  The Dismal Dash is a 25.4 mile course that is flat like a table top.  The winds are usually pretty random, and this was proven true in this case.  I due to the unfortunate status of part-time employed, and full-time student, coupled with the new info that I have recently been chosen for an internship in DC this summer, but will have to pay for my own housing, do not have the funds for a TT bike.  So I did what was necessary, and showed up on the madone, equipped with clamp-ons, skinsuit, wheel cover (for the rear), aero front wheel, one less bottle cage, shoe covers, and aero helmet.  Everything I could possibly do short of the bike itself.  Did I mention I don’t like time trials.  It helps that Dan is obsessed with them.  this motivates me to at least go out there and run myself ragged to attempt to approach his times.  We got to the course two hours early.  Enough time, to get our numbers, set up the bikes, and trainers, check over everything, and talk with some people.  Andrew decided to up inter-team relations with Hilton Cycling’s Joe Altamore during warm ups as shown.

To make it short and sweet, I went off with the two people in front of me being Dan Netzer and Dan King.  i didn’t expect to ever see them again. The person to my rear was Dan Craft, nobody right behind him, and then Marc Warner four minutes behind me.  It took Dan Craft a little over 13 miles to catch me, and I started to catch him back until at the 22 miles mark Marc Warner passed completely demoralizing me.  I finished with a time of 1:00:06.  Pretty happy with that taking 5th in the Cat 3s out of nine, but ding the only person on a road bike.

Hopefully at some point down the road I can snag me a TT bike, hopefully soon.

Posted March 21, 2011 by shootthegap in Race Reports

Tagged with , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment